Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Termine

FELICITAS HOPPE - Room and Cosmos: Self-Portrait of a Traveling Writer

Felicitas Hoppe's literary work includes short stories, novels, children's books and essays. In addition to her literary writing, she regularly contributes to newspapers, magazines and radio. Hoppe travels, writes and teaches around the world and addresses this in many of her works, such as Pigafetta (1999), Verbrecher und Versager (2004) and Prawda. An American Journey (2018). Her work has been awarded the Brothers Grimm Prize, the Pied Piper Literature Prize in her home town of Hameln, the Grand Prize of the German Literature Fund and the Georg Büchner Prize, among others. In spring 2024, Hoppe was honored with the Berlin Literature Prize of the Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung and an associated guest professorship at the Freie Universität zu Berlin. At the invitation of Dartmouth College, Hoppe will read from her award-winning texts and tell the story of how a couch potato became a world traveler and a dreamer became an adventurer. (Reading and talk in German)

Location: IBZ club

Jul 30, 2024 | 06:00 PM

PETRO RYCHLO - The reception of Kafka in German-language poetry from Bukovina

All over the world the year 2024 is considered a Franz Kafka Year - the 100th anniversary of the death of the most important representative of European literary modernism. The work of German-Jewish poets from Bukovina forms an interesting chapter in the early reception of Kafka. Using the example of the Kafka reflections of the Chernivtsi poets Rose Ausländer, Alfred Kittner, Paul Celan and Alfred Gong, the lecture by Ukrainian literature professor Petro Rychlo on August 15 offers a fascinating cross-section of the poetic appropriation of Kafka's work on the distant fringes of the German-speaking world. (Lecture + discussion in German)

Location: IBZ club

Aug 15, 2024 | 07:30 PM

ACHIM AMME - Der Amme. Poet

Achim Amme, who studied theater studies, philosophy and German studies and is known for his work as a freelance author (including for the SZ) and as an actor in television productions such as Tatort, Bella Block and Großstadtrevier, presents unpublished material from four decades of the last century in his book “Der Amme. Poet". What has endured, what can be dusted off, what can be safely thrown in the garbage can? When opening an old computer, it was possible to determine to the day exactly when the poems were written. So why not assign a diary entry to each poem and place four decades of poetry production in a personal and historical context? This “... turns reading into a journey through time, you can feel the respective operating temperature of the Federal Republic in the last decades of the 20th century: Political. Funny. Good." writes Petra Haase in the newspaper Lübecker Nachrichten. Between the texts, the author also includes his own songs and chansons. (Performance in German)

Location: IBZ club

Aug 22, 2024 | 07:30 PM

TIM MCMILLAN + RACHEL SNOW

With our last club concert for this year, we are once again presenting a musical highlight to round off the summer: Tim McMillan and Rachel Snow from Australia already enthralled us last year and we are delighted that they are stopping by again on their tour this year. Hailing from Melbourne, Tim is a renegade everyman and an utterly unique musician who doesn't fit into any box. He is a true virtuoso on the acoustic guitar and combines stylistic elements of folk, jazz, classical, blues and a healthy dash of progressive rock in his music. For 5 years he has been performing as a duo with his partner Rachel, a classically trained violinist, who contributes beguiling melodies and delicate pizzicati, and whose voice complements Tim's vocals to create enchanting harmonies. With their lively, virtuoso performances, which are always spiced up with a good pinch of humor, the two have gained a large fan base in Germany. Don't miss out on this special treat!

Location: IBZ club

Aug 29, 2024 | 06:00 PM

SASKYA JAIN + CHRISTOPHER KLOEBLE - Telling India's history through stories

Writing duo Saskya Jain and Christopher Kloeble take us to India and talk about how they tell the country's multilingual, multicultural and multi-religious history through stories. In “Geeta Rahman at Championship Point” (2021) by Saskya Jain, a young half-orphan mourns the loss of her mother as she rises to badminton stardom in the turbulent political climate of India in the early 1990s. Christopher Kloeble's “The Museum of the World” (2021; English 2022) is set in the mid-19th century and tells the story of a teenage orphan who leaves colonial Bombay to translate for the German (Bavarian) explorers Hermann, Adolph and Robert Schlagintweit - but above all to achieve a new consciousness. The discussion (in English) following the reading will focus on the advantages of young protagonists and the challenges of narrating colonial pasts across borders and, of course, respond to questions from the audience. The event is being organized in cooperation with Dartmouth College. 

Location: IBZ club

Jul 15, 2024 | 06:00 PM

VIRGINIA YEP

Virginia Yep began her guitar studies at the Conservatorio Nacional de Música in Lima, Peru, at the age of eight. After winning several awards and passing her final exams, she first moved to Spain and later to Berlin, where she completed her doctorate at the Free University. Performances have taken her to South and Central America, Europe, Morocco, Turkey and China. In addition to her concert and research activities, she composes her own pieces, which she will perform for us this evening with her usual virtuosity.

Location: IBZ Club

Jun 27, 2024 | 06:00 PM

FÊTE DE LA MUSIQUE + SUMMER PARTY

On Friday, June 21, the IBZ will once again be part of the Berlin, Germany and Europe-wide FÊTE DE LA MUSIQUE. From 16:00 we invite you to a cheerful open-air concert in front of the IBZ main entrance. At the same time, we are celebrating our big IBZ summer party. Program: 16:00 Tango Element Project (Latin) 17:30 Couple O'Strings (Folk) 19:00 Stand-ARTS (Jazz, Swing) + Children's program: Soap bubble show with Pit & Pat Catering: Fischtaxi

Location: IBZ Main Entrance

Jun 21, 2024 | 04:00 PM

REAL_BACK4

After rocking the hall as a quartet last year, Real_BacK4 return to heat us up in the club as a trio. Marek Koch (vocals), Jaakko Johannsen (piano) and Thommi Vock (double bass) came together on stage in 2020 - where else? Their love belongs mainly to jazz and swing standards, but their repertoire also includes lesser-known pieces alongside the well-known classics.

Location: IBZ Club

Jun 13, 2024 | 06:00 PM

DAMIÁN DALESSANDRO ETNOENSAMBLE

The music of Argentinian composer and arranger Damián DAlessandro is inspired by Latin American folklore and combines new ideas and influences from other genres such as classical music, progressive rock and jazz. On guitar and bandoneon, together with his EtnoEnsamble, consisting of Laico Ruiz Dominguez (guitars), Estela Garcia (violin) and Lea Hart (electric bass), he brings his compositions to the stage with a great deal of temperament and joie de vivre.

Location: IBZ Club

Jun 06, 2024 | 06:00 PM

AIR QUALITY: SCIENTIFIC STORYTELLING IN ACTION

Modern science isn’t just about creating knowledge. Scientists also need to be effective communicators to share their knowledge with different audiences. In this project presentation, students from Dartmouth College’s Thayer School of Engineering will model several approaches to scientific storytelling. Using data and their own research findings on the air quality in several German cities, they will show how to frame, explain, and share scientific knowledge with different interlocutors, from average citizens to policy makers. Admission free

Location: IBZ Saal

May 31, 2024 | 07:00 PM

VOCAL ENSEMBLE SAKURA - SPRING CONCERT

The Sakura vocal ensemble invites you to its traditional spring concert. The German-Japanese choir has been rehearsing at the IBZ for years and its performances are an integral part of the IBZ program. Under the musical direction of Azusa Nakaoka, the ensemble performs German and Japanese folk and art songs as well as pieces on the koto, a 13-stringed arched-board zither used in Japanese court music. Don't miss this extraordinary listening experience! Admission free

Location: IBZ Saal

May 30, 2024 | 07:30 PM - 11:59 PM

NAMOLI BRENNET

Namoli Brennet's style embodies modern American songwriting, which is characterized by folk, jazz and rhythm & blues. Her 11th album “Ditch Lilies” was nominated for the German Record Critics' Award in Germany. If 3 years ago it was still a question of - Namoli who? - she is now an established musical figure in Europe. She has performed at the United Nations in Geneva, the Venner Folkfrühling and L-Beach 2019 alongside MIA and Prada Meinhoff, among others. The US Billboard magazine praised Brennet's song “Thorn in Your Side” in an article as outstanding. Her music was featured in the Emmy award-winning film documentary “Out in the Silence”, which documents the struggle of a teenager in rural Pennsylvania. On this tour she will be accompanied by Potsdam-based artist Amy Protscher on bass. Admission free

Location: IBZ Saal

May 23, 2024 | 07:30 PM - 11:59 PM

CHRIS HYDE – WONDERWORLD OF MAGIC

Chris Hyde is not only a magician but also a musician and will tell you how he discovered his love for music and the art of magic. Experience true miracles right before your eyes. What is a magic wand? Can you make objects move? Is it possible to transform water? Is cooking together with a magician a challenge? In his very personal way, Chris Hyde shows you his way of performing magic, paired with stories that will leave you amazed. Together with his audience, Chris Hyde creates wonders from the world of magic. He presents his magic show in an elegant, sophisticated and respectful manner. Admission free Attention - seats limited! Registration required (info@ibz-berlin.de)

Location: IBZ Club

May 16, 2024 | 07:30 PM

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Termine

FELICITAS HOPPE - Stube und Kosmos: Selbstportrait einer reisenden Schriftstellerin

Das literarische Werk von Felicitas Hoppe umfasst Erzählungen, Romane, Kinderbücher und Essays. Neben dem literarischen Schreiben verfasst sie regelmäßig Beiträge für Zeitungen, Zeitschriften und Rundfunk. Hoppe ist weltweit reisend, schreibend und lehrend unterwegs und thematisiert dies in vielen ihrer Werke, wie etwa in Pigafetta (1999), Verbrecher und Versager (2004) und Prawda. Eine amerikanische Reise (2018). Ihr Werk wurde unter anderem mit dem Brüder-Grimm-Preis, dem Rattenfänger Literaturpreis ihrer Heimatstadt Hameln, dem Großen Preis des Deutschen Literaturfonds und dem Georg-Büchner-Preis ausgezeichnet. Im Frühjahr 2024 wurde Hoppe mit dem Berliner Literaturpreis der Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung und einer damit verbundenen Gastprofessur an der Freien Universität zu Berlin gewürdigt. Auf Einladung des Dartmouth College liest Hoppe aus ihren vielfach preisgekrönten Texten und erzählt davon, wie aus einer Stubenhockerin eine Weltreisende und aus einer Träumerin eine Abenteurerin wurde.

Ort: IBZ Club

30.07.2024 | 18:00

PETRO RYCHLO - Die Kafka-Rezeption in der deutschsprachigen Lyrik der Bukowina

Das Jahr 2024 gilt in der ganzen Welt als Franz Kafka-Jahr – zum 100. Mal jährt sich der Todestag des wichtigsten Repräsentanten der europäischen literarischen Moderne. Ein interessantes Kapitel der frühen Kafka-Rezeption bildet das Werk deutsch-jüdischer Dichter aus der Bukowina. Am Beispiel der Kafka-Reflexionen der Czernowitzer Lyriker Rose Ausländer, Alfred Kittner, Paul Celan oder Alfred Gong bietet der Vortrag des ukrainischen Literaturprofessors Petro Rychlo am 15.08. einen faszinierenden Querschnitt der poetischen Aneignung des Werkes Kafkas am fernen Rande der deutschsprachigen Welt.

Ort: IBZ Club

15.08.2024 | 19:30

ACHIM AMME - Der Amme. Poet

Der studierte Theaterwissenschaftler, Philosoph und Germanist Achim Amme, den man neben seiner Arbeit als freier Autor (u.a. für die SZ) auch als Schauspieler aus Fernsehproduktionen wie Tatort, Bella Block oder Großstadtrevier kennt, präsentiert in seinem Buch „Der Amme. Poet“ unveröffentlichtes aus vier Jahrzehnten des letzten Jahrhunderts. Was hat Bestand, was kann entstaubt, was kann getrost in die Tonne getreten werden? Beim Öffnen eines alten Computers ließ sich auf den Tag genau feststellen, wann die Gedichte geschrieben wurden. Warum also nicht jedem Gedicht einen Tagebucheintrag zuordnen und vier Jahrzehnte Lyrikproduktion in einen persönlichen wie zeitgeschichtlichen Rahmen stellen? Damit „... wird das Lesen zu einer Zeitreise, man fühlt die jeweilige Betriebstemperatur der Bundesrepublik in den letzten Jahrzehnten des 20. Jahrhundert: Politisch. Lustig. Gut.“ schreibt Petra Haase in den Lübecker Nachrichten. Zwischen den Texten streut der Autor auch immer wieder eigene Songs und Chansons ein.

Ort: IBZ Club

22.08.2024 | 19:30

TIM MCMILLAN + RACHEL SNOW

Mit unserem letzten Club-Konzert für dieses Jahr präsentieren wir noch einmal ein musikalisches Highlight zum Sommerausklang: Tim McMillan und Rachel Snow aus Australien haben uns schon im letzten Jahr begeistert und wir freuen uns sehr, dass sie auf ihrer diesjährigen Tour wieder bei uns Station machen. Tim stammt aus Melbourne, und ist ein abtrünniger Durchschnittsbürger und ein ganz und gar einzigartiger Musiker, der in keine Schublade passt. Er ist ein wahrer Virtuose auf der Akustikgitarre und vereint in seiner Musik Stilelemente aus Folk, Jazz, Klassik und Blues, gemischt mit einer gesunden Prise Progressive Rock. Seit 5 Jahren ist er als Duo mit seiner Lebensgefährtin Rachel, einer klassisch ausgebildeten Violinistin unterwegs, die betörende Melodien und filigrane Pizzicati beisteuert, und deren Stimme sich mit Tims Gesang zu zauberhaften Harmonien ergänzt. Mit ihren lebendigen, virtuosen Auftritten, die nicht zuletzt immer mit einer guten Prise Humor gewürzt sind, haben sich die beiden inzwischen eine große Fangemeinde hierzulande erspielt. Lassen Sie sich dieses Schmankerl nicht entgehen!

Ort: IBZ Club

29.08.2024 | 18:00

SASKYA JAIN + CHRISTOPHER KLOEBLE - Telling India's history through stories

Das Autorenpaar Saskya Jain und Christopher Kloeble entführt uns nach Indien und berichtet davon, wie sie die mehrsprachige, multikulturelle und multireligiöse Geschichte des Landes durch Geschichten erzählen. In „ Geeta Rahman at Championship Point “ (2021) von Saskya Jain trauert eine junge Halbwaise um ihre Mutter, während sie in den turbulenten politischen Verhältnissen Indiens in den frühen 1990er Jahren zum Badmintonstar aufsteigt. Christopher Kloebles „ The Museum of the World “ (2021; Englisch 2022) spielt in der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts und erzählt die Geschichte eines jugendlichen Waisenkindes, das das koloniale Bombay verlässt, um für die deutschen (bayerischen) Entdecker Hermann, Adolph und Robert Schlagintweit zu übersetzen - aber vor allem, um zu einem neuen Bewusstsein zu gelangen. Das an die Lesung anschließende Gespräch (in englischer Sprache) wird sich mit den Vorzügen junger Protagonisten und den Herausforderungen der Erzählung kolonialer Vergangenheiten über Grenzen hinweg befassen und natürlich auf Fragen aus dem Publikum eingehen. Die Veranstaltung findet in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Dartmouth-College statt. 

Ort: IBZ Club

15.07.2024 | 18:00

VIRGINIA YEP

Virginia Yep begann ihr Gitarrenstudium am Conservatorio Nacional de Música in Lima, Peru, bereits mit acht Jahren. Nach mehreren gewonnenen Auszeichnungen und ihrer Abschlussprüfung zog es sie zunächst Spanien, später nach Berlin, wo sie an der Freien Universität promovierte. Auftritte führten sie nach Süd- und Mittelamerika, Europa, Marokko, in die Türkei und nach China. Neben ihrer Konzert- und Forschungstätigkeit komponiert sie eigene Stücke, die sie uns an diesem Abend gewohnt virtuos zu Gehör bringen wird.

Ort: IBZ Club

27.06.2024 | 18:00

FÊTE DE LA MUSIQUE + SOMMERFEST

Am Freitag, den 21. Juni ist das IBZ endlich wieder einmal Teil der berlin-, deutschland- und europaweit stattfindenden FÊTE DE LA MUSIQUE. Ab 16:00 laden wir Sie ein zu einem fröhlichen Open-Air-Konzert vor dem IBZ-Haupteingang. Gleichzeitig feiern wir zu diesem Anlass unser großes IBZ-Sommerfest. Programm: 16:00 Tango Element Project (Latin) 17:30 Couple O'Strings (Folk) 19:00 Stand-ARTS (Jazz, Swing)  + Kinderprogramm: Seifenblasenshow mit Pit & Pat Catering: Fischtaxi

Ort: IBZ Haupteingang

21.06.2024 | 16:00

REAL_BACK4

Nachdem Sie im letzten Jahr als Quartett den Saal gerockt haben, kehren Real_BacK4 zurück um uns als Trio im Club einzuheizen. Zusammengefunden haben Marek Koch (Gesang), Jaakko Johannsen (Klavier) und Thommi Vock (Kontrabass) im Jahr 2020 auf der Bühne - wo auch sonst? Ihre Liebe gehört hauptsächlich Jazz und Swing-Standards, neben den bekannten Klassikern finden sich aber auch unbekanntere Stücke in ihrem Repertoire.

Ort: IBZ Club

13.06.2024 | 18:00

DAMIÁN DALESSANDRO ETNOENSAMBLE

Die Musik des argentinischen Komponisten und Arrangeurs Damián DAlessandro ist von lateinamerikanischer Folklore inspiriert und kombiniert neuartige Ideen und Einflüsse aus anderen Genres wie klassischer Musik, Progressive Rock und Jazz. An Gitarre und Bandoneon bringt er zusammen mit seinem EtnoEnsamble, bestehend aus Laico Ruiz Dominguez (Gitarren), Estela Garcia (Geige) und Lea Hart (E-Bass), seine Kompositionen mit viel Temperament und Lebensfreude auf die Bühne.

Ort: IBZ Club

06.06.2024 | 18:00

LUFTQUALITÄT: WISSENSCHAFTLICHES STORYTELLING IN AKTION

In dieser Projektpräsentation werden Studierende der Thayer School of Engineering des Dartmouth College verschiedene Ansätze des wissenschaftlichen Geschichtenerzählens vorstellen. Anhand von Daten und ihren eigenen Forschungsergebnissen über die Luftqualität in mehreren deutschen Städten werden sie zeigen, wie man wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse formuliert, erklärt und mit verschiedenen Gesprächspartnern - vom Durchschnittsbürger bis zum politischen Entscheidungsträger - teilt. (Präsentation in englischer Sprache) Eintritt frei

Ort: IBZ Saal

31.05.2024 | 19:00

VOKALENSEMBLE SAKURA - FRÜHLINGSKONZERT

Das Vokalensemble Sakura lädt zum traditionellen Frühlingskonzert. Der deutsch-japanische Chor probt seit Jahren bei uns im Haus und ist mit seinen Auftritten fester Bestandteil des IBZ-Programms. Unter der musikalischen Leitung von Azusa Nakaoka präsentiert das Ensemble neben deutschen und japanischen Volks- und Kunstliedern auch Stücke auf der Koto, einer mit 13 Saiten bespannten Wölbbrettzither, die in der höfischen japanischen Musik gespielt wird. Lassen Sie sich dieses außergewöhnliche Hörerlebnis nicht entgehen! Eintritt frei

Ort: IBZ Saal

30.05.2024 | 19:30 - 23:59

NAMOLI BRENNET

Namoli Brennet verkörpert mit ihrem Stil das moderne amerikanische Songwriting, das geprägt ist von Folk, Jazz und Rhythm & Blues. Ihr 11. Album "Ditch Lilies" wurde in Deutschland für den Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik nominiert. Wenn es vor 3 Jahren noch hieß – Namoli wer? - ist sie heute in Europa eine feste musikalische Größe. Sie trat unter anderem bei den Vereinten Nationen in Genf, auf dem Venner Folkfrühling und der L-Beach 2019 neben MIA und Prada Meinhoff auf. Das US-amerikanische Billboard-Magazin würdigte Brennets Song „Thorn in Your Side“ in einem Artikel als herausragend. Ihre Musik wurde unter anderem in der mit einem Emmy prämierten Filmdokumentation „Out in the Silence“ gespielt, die den Daseinskampf eines Teenagers im ländlichen Pennsylvania dokumentiert. Auf der Tour wird sie begleitet von von der Potsdamerin Amy Protscher am Bass. Eintritt frei

Ort: IBZ Saal

23.05.2024 | 19:30 - 23:59

CHRIS HYDE – WUNDERWELT DER MAGIE

Chris Hyde ist nicht nur Zauberkünstler, sondern auch Musiker und wird Ihnen erzählen, wie er seine Liebe für die Musik und der Zauberkunst entdeckte. Erleben Sie wahre Wunder direkt vor Ihren Augen. Was ist ein Zauberstab? Kann man Objekte wandern lassen? Ist es möglich Wasser zu verwandeln? Ist gemeinsames Kochen mit einem Zauberer eine Herausforderung? In seiner sehr persönlichen Art zeigt Ihnen Chris Hyde seine Art der Zauberkunst, gepaart mit Geschichten, die Sie staunen lassen werden. Zusammen mit seinem Publikum lässt Chris Hyde Wunder aus der Welt der Magie entstehen. Seine Zaubershow präsentiert er, elegant, niveauvoll und in respektvollem Umgang mit seinen Zuschauern. Eintritt frei Achtung - Plätze limitiert! Anmeldung erforderlich (info@ibz-berlin.de)

Ort: IBZ Club

16.05.2024 | 19:30

NACHA DARAIO & EZEQUIEL ACOSTA - TANGO

Stimme & Bandoneon - ein warmes und charmantes Duo mit einem zarten Klang. Ezequiels Akkorde und Melodien klingen wie ein Live-Orchester, das von einem Bandoneon verkörpert wird. Nachas elegante Stimme bringt einen neuen und frischen Stil ein, indem sie ein neues weibliches Profil in der Interpretation dieses Genres präsentiert. Beide sind Absolventen der Schule für populäre Musik von Avellaneda (EMPA). Sie gehören zu einer neuen Generation von jungen Leuten, die auf den Tango setzen. Die Musik und die Texte wecken Empfindungen und Bilder ihrer geliebten Stadt Buenos Aires. Das Tanzrepertoire umfasst verschiedene Urheber und Komponisten aus der Geschichte des Tangos wie Di Sarli, Darienzo oder Piazzolla. Eintritt frei

Ort: IBZ Saal

02.05.2024 | 19:30 - 23:00